P U T N E Y  V E R M O N T
Municipal Site

127 Main Street, P.O. Box 233, Putney, VT 05346
Announcements | Contacts | Documents | Links | Maps | Offices | Hawks | History | Conservation | Home

Contacts, Hours and Meeting Times


Joshua Laughlin, Clerk

Email:  jdl44@earthlink.net


R. Scott Henry, Chair

Email:  lspeers@sover.net


Stephen Hed, Vice-Chair

Email:  stevehed@sover.net


Meets every other Wednesday evening at Town Hall. Check the Announcements page for upcoming dates, times and agendas.

Town Manager/Zoning Administrator:  

            Willis “Chip” Stearns II (802) 387-5862 Ext. 11
            Email: putneyvt@putneyvt.org  Fax: 802-387-4708

            Office Hours: Monday - Friday, 9:00 - 4:00 P.M.


Town Clerk/Treasurer: 

Denise Germon (802) 387-5862 Ext. 13

Email: putneytc@putneyvt.org   Fax:  802-387-4708

Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday, Thursday & Friday 9AM - 2 PM

Justices of the Peace:

            Alan Blood                 802-451-6872

            Margaret Cassidy        802-387-6614

            Henry Farnum             802-387-4007

            Amelia Struthers         802-258-2097

            Karen Gustafson         802-387-6633

            Wendy Wilson            802-387-2336

            Nancy Olson               802-387-5963

            Peter Stickney             802-387-1191 

            Edith Gould                802-246-7568

            Holly Hammond         802-387-2618




Brattleboro Union High School Board:

For further information call WSESU (802)254-3730

Meets first and third Monday of each month, 7:00 PM, WRCC Cusick Conference Room, Brattleboro, VT.


Conservation Commission:

Ann Kerrey, Chair (802)387- 5685

Meets second Monday of each month, 7:00 P.M., Town Hall


Cemetery Commissioners:

Betsy MacIssac (802)387-5790

Greg Wilson (617)401-6892

Nancy Hood (802)387-2329

Check the announcements section for upcoming dates and times


Development Review Board:

Phillip Bannister, Chair (802)387-4358

Mary Heller Osgood, Vice Chair

Third Tuesday of each month (as needed), 7:00 P.M., Town Hall


Highway Department/ Town Garage:

Brian Harlow, Highway Superintendent

Monday - Friday, 7:00 - 3:30 P. M. (802) 387-5730


Town Listers: 

Jonathan Johnson

Geordie Heller

Office Hours: Mondays 1:00 – 3:00 P.M.

(802)387-5862 Ext. 17  Email:  putneylo@putneyvt.org

A Lister comes in each day to collect messages and work on maintaining the towns grand list.  Please call ahead to make an appointment or feel free to stop by. We are elected, work part time and are available as needed.


The Grand List and Lister Cards are available on-line using this link: https://www.nemrc.info/web_data/


Planning Commission: 

Phillip Bannister, Chair (802) 387-4358

First Tuesday of each month, 7:00 P.M., Town Hall

Putney Town School Board

Alice Laughlin, Chair 

Second & fourth Thursday of each month, 4:15 P.M., Putney Central School


Putney Historical Society: 

Ruth Barton, President

15 Kimball Hill, 387-4411

P.O. Box 260, Putney, VT 05346


Hours:  Tuesdays & Saturdays 10-2 (July & August)


Putney Public Library: 

Emily Zervas, Library Director

55 Main Street (802) 387-4407
Hours: Monday - Friday: 10:30-6:00, Saturday: 10:00 - 1:00

The Board of Trustees meets on the third Tuesday of each month (except July & August) at 6:30 p.m. in the library


Putney Rec. League:

Michael Barrett, President, 579-4739, gotmilk_vt@yahoo.com

The Board meets the second Wednesday each month, 6:30 P.M. at Putney Central School


Water & Wastewater Treatment Plant: 

Simon Operation Services

Operator:  Joe Tetreault (802) 387-4345

Monday - Friday, 7:00 - 3:30 P.M.


Windham Regional Commissioners:

Alice Maes (802)387-4881, alicemaes@hotmail.com



Non-emergency numbers:

Fire Department (802) 387-4372 http://putneyfire.wordpress.com  

Rescue, Inc. (802) 257-7679 http://rescueinc.org

Windham County Sheriff (802) 365-4942 http://windhamsheriff.com


Burn Permits: 

To obtain a burn permit call the Putney Fire Station: Mon – Fri, 7 a.m. – 5 p.m.  If you are unable to reach anybody at the Fire Station, you can attempt to contact the following people:  Mon – Fri, 7 a.m. – 5 p.m. and on weekends 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Tom Goddard, Fire Chief (802) 387-4372 or cell (802) 579-9526

Chris Fellows (802)380-3109

Russ Ellis (802) 387-4448

Marc Fellows (802) 579-9890